Money Secrets of the Amish

July 4, 2014

by Lorilee Craker

As I’m an avid reader but hate paying full retail for books, (I’m not yet advanced to eBooks), I look for books and/or authors I would like to read/collect at second-hand stores/Thrift shops. I picked this book up at one of my favorite haunts when I visit the front range, the Arc. Since we’ve been seriously looking at our budget and trying to find ideas on how to keep our outgo less than our income, I thought I needed to read this.

Ms. Craker gives a lot of ideas on how to make things go further. Ideas that used to be a common way of life but in our marketed-to generation, we’ve forgotten.

You never buy new and/or retail if you can help it. You always find uses for things you have laying around your house. Recycling things is a way of life for the Amish.

Second hand stores (such as the one mentioned previously) are great places to find things you need (emphasis on need NOT want) for a fraction of the cost of buying retail/new. Though you can find a lot of things you want there too.

As I read this book, I realized that my father and several of my German relatives have demonstrated much of what the Amish do. My hubby does as well. So as I read this book I began looking around to see what I could recycle .

Bartering is also one of the ideas put forth in this book that the Amish do. Wish I could say I felt comfortable with that idea. I like the idea, I’m just not sure what I would have that could be used to barter other services/products I need.

If you’re looking for ideas on how to cut down on your costs, this is a good read.

Leave a comment